The Gift of Purple Flowers

PART_1428193571481_IMG_0907

Our yard is a mess. We are not home project people. I kill pretty much every plant that I breathe on or look at, but I love flowers and beautiful landscaping. I hope to one day find the time to focus on gardening and landscaping. Right now, between a toddler, a dog, and a baby to be, working 20 to 30 hours a week, and just everyday life; it is not a priority. In addition to my thumb being black, our yard is basically rocks, leaves, and trees. Fortunately, for us, we live on a steep hill, so unless you are stalking us, you really don’t notice our disastrous landscaping.

On the opposite spectrum is our neighbor’s yard. It is pristine. They have a vegetable garden, beautiful flowers and hedges, and  a perfectly manicured lawn. (I might be a little jealous as they may be a little embarrassed to live next to us.)

Last summer, my mother-in-law lost the fight to pancreatic cancer. Needless to say, it has been a hard year for our family: a year filled with grief and sadness, and bittersweet memories. We are trying to pick up the pieces of this puzzle called Life.

Now, you are probably wondering, what in the world does the above have to do with landscaping and flowers? Well, you see, our yard is normally crab grass and rocks. This year it is filled with beautiful purple flowers. Purple flowers may not mean that much to you, but for our family, it is a gift, a relief from the sadness and broken heartedness. You see, purple was my mother-in-law’s favorite color. And to top it off, purple is the color which symbolizes pancreatic cancer.  Every time I see those flowers, every time my daughter plays in the “field” of flowers, I see love, joy and peace. I see my daughter playing with her lost “Mimi”. I see a hole mended in my husband’s broken heart. I don’t just see flowers, I see love, I feel an angel’s presence sent there just for us. I hear God whispering to us that we will be okay, that He is with us. He is waiting with arms wide open to envelop us with his goodness and unconditional love.

Purple flowers are a gift.

If you are grieving, in whatever form that may be, I pray that you will open your eyes and  your heart to receive a gift from our heavenly father. He longs to comfort us.

Matthew 5:4
Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

Psalm 34:18
The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.

4 thoughts on “The Gift of Purple Flowers

  1. I love this Brynn. On the evening of the twins’ funeral, there was a beautiful bright pink and blue sunset. I always felt that was a tribute to our babies, and I always think of them when I see another sunset like it.

    Like

  2. So sorry for your loss. Sending love and light C and Scott.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful story. Having just lost my Mom three weeks ago, this uplifted my sadness to a smile. Thank you for sharing and God Bless, SR

    Like

Leave a Reply

