Favorite Inspirations

Two of my favorite inspirations on a daily basis!

Two of my favorite inspirations on a daily basis!

My goal for this section is just to inspire and lift up others who have caused inspiration in some form or another. I hope for this blog to be able to incorporate articles, bloggers, songs, or books. Basically anything that you can think of that brings a smile to your face or laughter in your heart. My goal is to publish this weekly on a Saturday or Sunday! I hope you enjoy! Feel free to pass on any encouragement!

1. I have just finished a book by Kari Patterson called “I Will Look Up”. It is a devotional book that has 31 devotionals. I enjoyed all of them, but my favorite was the chapter called “The End of Mommy Guilt (Or Whatever Other False Guilt You Face)”.  One of my favorite quotes was “We’re not called to a child-centered existence; we’re called to a Christ-centered existence. Yes, we give countless hours to our children, but they don’t run the show. God does.” If you want to check out her blog, here is the link: http://www.karipatterson.com/welcome-2/

2. You know the song “I Can Only Imagine”, by Mercy Me. Perhaps a bit overstated,but this song always inspires me. I heard it as I was driving home from work feeling frustrated, overwhelmed, stressed, and disheartened (though for the life of me I could not tell you why). It came on right when I needed it and helped lift my spirits. I listened to it again on you tube (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xwzItqYmII) while I was writing this post. This song reminds me of something my pastor said a few sermons ago. He was talking about how as Christians we like to debate what we will ask God when we meet him, like what went through Noah’s mind when you asked him to build a boat when there had been no rain, EVER. Or perhaps, he can replay the scene where Jesus walks on water. I am sure you can think of your own questions for which you have always felt curious.  My pastor stated something along the following lines, “I don’t think we are going to care about those questions when we meet God. I think we will fall on our knees or be rendered speechless or dance and sing for joy. We are not going to be able to do anything but worship, in whatever form that takes for you.” I can only imagine…

3.From my daily Bible reading: “O God, you are my God; I earnestly search for you. My soul thirsts for you; my whole body longs for you in this parched and weary land where there is no water. I have seen you in your sanctuary and gazed upon your power and glory. Your unfailing love is better than life itself; how I praise you! I will praise you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer. You satisfy me more than the richest feast. I will praise you with songs of joy.” Psalms 63:1-11, NLT This passage reminds me of one of my favorite songs as a child. “Better than Life” by Acapella. It made me so happy to find this song and many more of my other favorites on you tube. Here’s the link to the song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qv5zZOnQ654

4. From the Huffington post, “The Life of the Party is closer than you think” This was great article highlighted by the Huffington Post about living life in the most extraordinary of ways.  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rachel-macy-stafford/the-life-of-the-party-is-closer-than-you-think_b_6950288.html.

Leave a Reply

