EXTRAORDINARY INSPIRATIONS OF THE WEEK

IMG_1098The first few inspirations of the week come from a few articles from my MOPS email I receive:

1.  http://www.mops.org/blog/gathering-together?PHPSESSID=qakmcvsd65vabsi31jhn4k3h72

The above article talks about how a community of women were able to pull together during times of sadness and tragedy. It speaks to the fact that we need a community of support, no matter your beliefs.

2. The following article talks about guilt that we, especially as moms, lay on ourselves. It speaks about not feeling guilty for basically being who you are and that we need to learn to respect each other’s parenting styles. We all come from different backgrounds and experiences. You are a good parent. http://www.mops.org/blog/5-things-i-refuse-to-feel-guilt-for-as-a-mother   I especially like the points about letting your child watch a little television and the point of how you choose to feed your child. I, for one, struggle with guilt and pressure of both of these.

3. Next is an article about not having many toys: http://moneysavingmom.com/2015/04/5-reasons-why-not-having-many-toys-has-benefited-our-family.html  I know, for one, we have too many toys! Partly because I had several handed down to me and partly because of the blessing of doting grandparents, aunts, uncles, etc. I am thankful for what we have, and in fact, I probably suggested several of the gifts we have received. I think we thought we needed more than we did, being that this is our first child. I must admit, this one is hard for me, as I see things all the time that I want to buy for our daughter, though she barely plays with some of her toys now. She loves balls, blocks, books, little people, and basically anything she can push or carry around. Other than that, everything else gets pushed to the bottom of the toy chest. She never stays on one thing for very long, with the exception of playing outside. She would stay outside all day if I let her.

4. Lastly is the following video between Melissa McCarthy and Ellen: http://www.ellentv.com/videos/0-umcdwmbu/  I don’t normally view celebrity videos, but I think this one is notable. Melissa hit the nail on the head when talking about how women are degraded in Hollywood and the media, and how young girls are watching. It does effect them. What even impressed me more was how Melissa didn’t get defensive, but rather appeared to respond to this reporter, who greatly insulted her, in a loving and gracious manner. I don’t know about you, but I would want to knock that reporter down a few pegs, and not in a gracious manner. Thank you to Melissa, who not only stood up for young women all across the world, but also taught the world about graciousness.  We, as women, need to stand  up for ourselves and stand up for our daughters and take a look at what our culture is teaching our children.

Finally, I will leave you with a verse for the week:

“Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be.” Luke 12:34

Leave a Reply

