SURVIVAL: EXTRAORDINARY INSPIRATIONS of the WEEK

This week has been all about survival for me. Between potty training, fighting nap time and bedtime, and all the meltdowns in between, this week felt like it was never going to end. No naps plus constant trips to the bathroom make for one cranky momma. That is why I chose survival for this week’s inspirations: survival of life, survival of pregnancy, survival of marriage, and survival of parenting. Hopefully it will inspire you to fight the battle so you can win the war.

Playing in the fountains after our pancreatic cancer walk

Playing in the fountains after our pancreatic cancer walk

1. The first article is about survival of a financial crises and learning to be content in all seasons. I especially liked how the author is able to relate to extremes of being wealthy and being poor. I know, for myself, that financial security is a huge deal. It is one of my biggest fears and one that I often neglect to rely on our God for, which is perhaps why it tops my list of fears.  My favorite quote from the article: “I discovered that my contentment is found in the unconditional love and acceptance of my God, my husband, my children, and the loved ones who extended a helping hand along that rocky path.”    http://moneysavingmom.com/2015/05/lessons-learned-financial-valley.html

2. The second article is about surviving marriage and ways that we can ruin our husband’s day. I thought it was a great perspective for us women who are all probably prone to do similar things. I know I am guilty on more than one of these. It is a very humbling article. http://trailerclub.org/6-ways-to-ruin-your-husbands-day/

3. Next is survival of pregnancy. Whatever your views are about parenting and birth control, I think it is a good article just because of the perspective of allowing God to control all aspects of our lives. The author has 7 children and I think she says it best when she says, “Pregnancy is a God-gift, a phenomenon of willingly giving up your body to be broken for another being so that they can have life.

Does that sound familiar to you? Jesus gave up His life for you! Every time I am pregnant, this impresses upon me more and more. Through morning sickness, sleepless nights, and the aches and pains–I am reminded that my body is a living vessel which has been given the blessing to give life to another”

This inspires me right now, because I am about 61/2 months pregnant and am definitely starting to feel some aches and pains.

http://purefreedom.org/is-god-in-charge-of-how-many-children-you-will-have/

4. Last, but certainly not least, is an article  about preserving memories For me, while I may not be able to keep a notebook, I can document our memories in other ways, through this blog, or through pictures. The whole point is to find a way to remember.

http://intentionalbygrace.com/preserving-memories-memory-journal/

Even as my toddler was running  away from in the grocery store screaming just because she wanted to help carry the grocery bag, but she didn’t want to wait for me to put the gorocery cart away, hence the temper tantrum, I treasure her helping heart .

Even as she sat down in the middle of the street during our walk for pancreatic cancer because for once she wanted to be held and not walk by herself, I will treasure watching her uncle run with her in the stroller. I will treaure being able to walk hand in hand with my husband, and am thankful to be able to walk during my pregnancy. I will treasure watching her play in the fountains after the race, because after all, we did survive. And sometimes you just need to run through the water barefoot.

When she managed to pull her diaper off and pee in her bed, managed to pee on her chair while in the middle of a time out, I treasure that she is so excited to go to the bathroom and finally seems to be grasping the concept (for now).

I know this too shall pass and I will look back and laugh.

Even as she fights sleep, I treasure watching her put all her toys to “night night”, knowing that it will soon be a distant memory.

Remember as you go throughout the week that we can survive because of the One who made it all, our Glorious Lord and Savior.

“Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of livingin every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenyt or little. For can do everything through Christ who gives me strength.” Phillippians 4: 11-13

wpid-2443.jpeg

Leave a Reply

