My Daddy is Awesome

DSC_0655My little girl is the epitome of a daddy’s girl. Now she is only two, so perhaps it will change. Right now, she has him (and her uncles and grandfathers) so tightly wrapped around her little finger, she pretty much just has to blink or pout. She may only be two, but she knows she can get away with murder when it comes to most, if not all, of the men in her life. Now to my husband’s merit, he does discipline, but sometimes it is just too much for even him, especially when she pouts or asks so sweetly for him to sing just one more song, read one more book and then plunges the final dagger in his heart with a kiss or hug. He falls for it, hook, line, and sinker.

Daddy is the first thing she asks about in the morning. She adores him!  The other day I was putting her to bed. As per our usual bedtime routine, we read a book, sing two songs, and say a prayer (not necessarily in that order). I asked her what song she wanted to sing. She replies, the “dada” song.  Not having a clue what she was talking about, I made up a song. It went something like this. “My daddy is so awesome, because he loves me so, He is so awesome, he jumps me high in the sky, and he loves me too. My daddy is so awesome and I love him too.”  I change the actions (and the key) pretty much everytime because I don’t remember what words I sang before; it’s not a real song!  Anyway, while I still don’t know what song to which she was originally referring, it was a hit and now she asks me to sing “The Dada Song” almost every night, over and over and over and over….   Just the same, it is pretty cute (and he is pretty awesome).

As part of our bedtime routine, I have also been asking what she would like to thank God for today as a way to get her to think about what prayer means. Her response is always the same (so far). She may think a minute about it, but she always says, “Dada”. She asks about her daddy pretty much throughout the entire day, and of course when mommy is being too mean, she screams for daddy. All of this daddy love (and in honor of Father’s day) inspired me to think of a real song or at least our own words to the tune of another song.  I don’t have the tune down, so feel free to comment. 🙂 This is my attempt (please don’t laugh, I am not a songwriter):

My daddy is so awesome,

He catches fireflies

My daddy is so awesome,

he tosses me in the skies,

My daddy is so awesome,

He watches my cartoon.

My daddy is so awesome,

He thinks I have hung the moon.

My daddy is so awesome,

He loves me all the time.

My daddy is so awesome,

He will always be mine.

All this talk does remind me of one of my favorite devotional songs in college and high school. ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smZwG-auxC8)

“Our God is an awesome God,

He reigns,from heaven above,

with wisdom, power, and love,

our God is an awesome God.”

It is a very simple, but powerful song. It encompasses how we should love our heavenly “daddy” with childlike fervor. God’s love is unconditional. He is the true model for how all fathers should strive to be. I know there are so many women out there, who have not been so lucky to have this type of model. But we do have a heavenly dad, who utterly adores and loves us. He loves us so much, that he sacrificed his own son so that we could spend the rest of our lives with our heavenly Father.

“For this is how God loved the world: He have his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. God sent his Son into the world not to judge the world, but to save the world through him.” John 3:16-17

Perhaps you did not have the father who attempted to model heavenly fatherhood. I am truly sorry for your loss. Know, however, that you do have a father who loves and respects you as you deserve.  He wants you to come to him and put your faith in him. He would love for you to trust him to the extent that you can leap in the air and know he will catch you.

“Then Jesus said, ‘Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

My husband and little girl share a mutual adoration and bond, one that I pray will never be broken. She needs her earthly daddy, as much as we all need a strong father figure throughout our lives. It does not matter how old you are. If you have a good father, you know he will always be there for you. I have an earthly father who attempted to model that very love. More importantly though I have a heavenly father. Even if our earthly dads disappoint us (and they will as they are human after all), know that we have a Father who will never disappoint and will always take care of you.

“Depend on the Lord, trust in him, and he will take care of you”. Psalms 37:5

Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

