THERE WILL BE A PARTY FOR YOU!

dmpbjw_1366For my daughter’s birthday a few months ago we received a magnet book. It was just a two page book that came with 31 magnets.  Technically, it said the age range was above 3, so I was a little paranoid to use it at first. Being a nurse, I know just enough to make myself crazy about what could happen if a child swallows a magnet.  Finally, one day a few months after her birthday, we tried it out. Of course, my little girl loved it. (crazy what entertains them) I was being very astute and watching her very closely. Later it was time for lunch and she wanted to play with the book again.  I set it in front of her, turned my back for, literally, one second. Irony of ironies, she had a few in her mouth.  I quickly grabbed them out of her mouth, then proceeded to count all the magnets to ensure I had all of them. I was missing one.  I turned to my toddler and asked her if she had swallowed one, for which she proceeded to say yes. Now at that time her yes also sounded like no so it was very hard to tell if, she knew what I meant, and if she  actually swallowed it.  After that point, I quickly progressed to full panic mode including “googling” what could happen when a magnet is swallowed just to add to my hysteria.  I swept the floor two to three times,  mopped, looked under the couch, and counted again and again. I was starting to cry, thinking how could I have turned my back for one second, why did I even let her play with it and all other sorts of self deprecating thoughts, thinking of the worse possible scenario and end result.  Anyway, long story short, we ended up at the pediatrician’s office in which he basically said since it  was so small and thin of a magnet and my child appeared in no distress, he would advise just watching and waiting. Nothing happened, she was completely fine. Needless to say, I was very observant of the floors and her stool over the next few days. (On the positive note, my floors were cleaner than usual!)

Several months, later, after I had given up ever finding this magnet and assuming she had passed it unnoticed, I saw a black spot on the floor. I bent to look at it closer, and you guessed it, it was the magnet. I was elated! I knew at that point that our daughter was fine, but somehow it was reassuring to know I had found it.

My silly story reminds me of the following stories found in the Bible:

“If a man has a hundred sheep and one of them gets lost, what will he do? Won’t he leave the ninety-nine others in the wilderness and go to search for the one that is lost until he finds it? And when he has found it, he will joyfully carry it home on his shoulders. When he arrives, he will call together his friends and neighbors, saying ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost sheep.’ In the same way, there is more joy in heaven over one lost sinner who repents and returns to God than over ninety-nine others who are righteous and havent’ strayed away!” Luke 15: 3-7

“Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one. Won’t she light a lamp and sweep the entire house and search carefully until she finds it? And when she finds it, she will call in her friends and neighbors and say, ‘Rejoice with me because I have found my lost coin.’ In the same way, there is joy in the presence of God’s angels when even one sinner repents”  Luke 15: 8-10

“for this son of mine was dead, and has now returned to life. He was lost, but now he is found. So the party began. We had to celebrate this happy day. For your brother was dead and has come back to life! He was lost, but now he is found!” Luke 15: 24, 32

Can you imagine?  Every time one of God’s children comes home or he finds a lost soul, he rejoices with His angels. He basically has a party. He has a party for you. He spends all his resources and money for this party. Against all logic and reason, in spite of our sinfulness and rebelliousness, there will be a celebration for you! He will call over all His friends and neighbors, and celebrate as if you are the only person that matters!

Now my husband and I’s wedding was a celebration. We had a blast! We dined and wined and danced. It did not matter what anyone else thought, because we were having fun and were blessed with celebrating with all of our family and friends. Not to brag, but people still say how much fun our wedding was that day five and half years ago. Can you imagine? God’s party will be so much better than any party that you have ever attended!

Think of how happy you are in the following moments: A lost coin. A dress  or piece of jewelry that has been missing for months found in the back of your closet.  Cash in your glove compartment that you had long since forgotten. The gift card lost in your wallet or pocket.  Your favorite pair of flip-flops that had been misplaced.  Think of the elation or the thoughts of good fortune that run through your mind in those seemingly trivial moments. You had even stopped looking  God rejoices so much more.  He continues to look and search, even in darkness.

HE NEVER STOPS SEARCHING!  AND WHEN HE FINDS YOU, THERE WILL BE A PARTY LIKE NONE OTHER!

Leave a Reply

